…Kasabian

First of all, I hope you’ve all had a great Christmas. It’s been really nice spending the festive period with all the family, something we’ve not been able to do for a good while as my wife and I have been living in England for the last six years.

2012 is almost upon us and it kind of gives me an excuse for doing this post – one I’ve been wanting to write for ages! It’s about my favourite band, Kasabian. If you’ve never heard of them, where have you been for the last eight years?! They’re from Leicester and although the music press love to make comparisons with other bands who have quite obviously influenced them, Oasis, Primal Scream and The Stone Roses (incidentally three of my favourite bands), they’ve definitely got a sound all of their own.

They’ll be playing a special gig at London’s O2 on Hogmanay which will be streamed live on You Tube. I’m not a big fan of New Year and always have a really quiet one due to normally having a game the next day. It’s usually just me and my wife seeing in the bells, watching the fireworks on the telly and maybe a bit of Jools Holland, depending on who’s on. But this year Kasabian will be bringing it in with a bang!

My brother and I went to see them in Glasgow a few weeks ago and they were awesome. I’ve seen them live on a few occasions and every time they’ve been outstanding but this was probably the best they’ve been. The songs they played from the new album ‘Velociraptor!’ add a new dimension to an already impressive back catalogue. The set list had all the favourites and it says something when they have the audacity to bring out a huge hit like ‘Underdog’ only three songs in. ‘Switchblade Smiles’ was a highlight from the new record that was even better live, check out the official video below.

The two main men, Tom Meighan and Sergio Pizzorno, were buzzing as usual but the whole band was on top form and looked like they were enjoying themselves as much as the crowd were. The atmosphere was mental! Having not been to a gig up here for ages, I’d forgotten how lively the Scottish fans can be. I recorded a fair bit of footage from the gig itself so here’s a little taste of what you can expect on New Years Eve.

Hope you all have a great New Year,

MOVE! Can you feel it coming?

2 comments
  1. Great band. – This is a nice piece. I havent really listened to their stuff much, I shall be on it, with I tunes.
    Happy new year!

  2. Did you see them on Jools Holland a few months back? Ever since then I’ve enjoyed regular listens to Goodbye Kiss. Different, but class.

Leave a Reply

