…My Greatest Kits #1

Liverpool F.C. Home 1979-1982

I’ve not posted for a while as I’ve been really busy with Uni work so on my return I thought I’d introduce a new feature called My Greatest Kits. I know it’s a cheesy title but it does what it says. I’ll be featuring kits that I’ve either owned or played in throughout my career. Between the ages of 4 – 16, my wardrobe consisted mainly of football strips and tracksuits and some of you who know me might be thinking it would be better if it still did!

The young Easton brothers – nice shirts, pity about the shorts!

I’m kicking off with the very first kit I ever owned and probably my all-time favourite, the Liverpool home shirt from 1979-82 as worn by my boyhood hero Kenny Dalglish and my Dad’s favourite player, Graeme Souness.  I was only 4 when my parents bought it for me on the way back from our holiday in Cornwall and my Mum even sewed King Kenny’s iconic number 7 on the back.

It’s a simple design but it just looks so cool and was a kit synonymous with success. The Liverpool team of that era were untouchable, winning League Championships, League Cups and European Cups in one of the club’s most successful spells. Everything about it oozes class, firstly it’s made by Umbro with their logo and the simple liver bird club badge sewn in golden yellow. Then you’ve got the sponsor,  Hitachi (the japanese electronics company) emblazoned across the chest in white block capitals. Liverpool were the first ever club in history to have a commercial sponsor on their jersey’s and they didn’t muck about. I love the way it looks and I used to liked the sound of the word when I was little. When Souness smashed one of his 25 yard blockbusters into the top bin and then turned around to celebrate, it was like HITACHI! – Take a bit of that! There is one negative though; the material. I don’t know what it was made from but I can only describe it as being a nipple burner. After three hours running about pretending to be Kenny Dalglish, I’ve got to say there was a fair bit of chaffing and even a spot of blood on more than one occasion, but it was well worth it.

Worth checking out –

Historical Football Kits (Liverpool F.C.)

Umbro Football Shirt Archive on Flickr

Umbro Blog – football shirt post

The Liverpool Shirts Museum – Home Kit 1979-1982

Hope you enjoyed this blast from the past, let me know which kits you think should be considered classics.

Leave a Reply

