…the next chapter

When I joined my first ever team, North Airdrie under 10’s, I’m sure my dream was the same as any other eight year old that lived and breathed football – to one day become a professional footballer and play at the highest level. That and to lift the World Cup for Scotland of course. Okay, I know what you’re thinking, but when you’re that age you believe anything is possible!

That’s the thing with being a footballer, there are so many of us with the same ambition and not everyone can be a Kenny Dalglish, Zinedine Zidane or Cristiano Ronaldo. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve tried everything in my power to be as good as them but I’m proof that it very often just doesn’t happen. Obviously my career hasn’t quite fulfilled my youthful expectations but it’s not been without a number of highlights and personal achievements.

So after six eventful years in England, here I am back in the Scottish Premier League with Dunfermline Athletic F.C. and ready for the next chapter in my football life.

I don’t know what that’s going to include, I certainly didn’t think I’d be sitting here writing this blog three years ago and only two months ago I didn’t have a clue where I would be playing or at what level. There’s one thing I can be certain of however, and that’s that I’ll work hard, make the most of it and try and enjoy myself along the way.

I’ve been at the ‘Pars’ for just over a month now and apart from a couple of rubbish results, I’m loving it already. When you join a new club you always get a little boost as everything’s fresh and new, although I already knew the manager, Jim MacIntyre, from my time playing alongside him at Dundee United. I must admit, I felt relieved to have got everything sorted out as there was so much uncertainty for my wife and I over the summer after my decision to leave Southend United.

Everyone at the club has made me feel very welcome and being on the training pitch and amongst the boys is what it’s all about. I hope you like the photos I took at training, not only did I get a bit of stick for getting the camera out, but I put my life on the line as I was standing too close to the goal – I think the safest place would’ve been in it!

We’ve no league game this Saturday because of the International break but I’ll be keeping myself  busy, moving all my stuff up to Scotland from Southend. It’s going to be a long weekend.

Leave a Reply

